Following their participation in the defunct European Super League earlier this year, Manchester City, Manchester United, Chelsea FC, Liverpool FC, Tottenham Hotspur FC, and Arsenal FC have agreed to risk a 30-point deduction and a £25 million punishment if they sign up to another breakaway tournament.


The Premier League’s six major clubs were among the 12 original members of the now-defunct European Super League, which was unveiled in April.
The Super League was described as a yearly rivalry between the 12 founding members and a few smaller clubs.

The leading English Premier League clubs faced reaction 48 hours after declaring their participation in the competition.
The top English Premier League clubs received a backlash from fans and the general public, leading to their withdrawal from the tournament.

Read Also  Pogba May not Play for Manchester United again, Says Rangnick

“The Six Clubs involved in the proposal to form a European Super League have today acknowledged once again that their actions were a mistake and have reconfirmed their commitment to the Premier League and the future of the English game,” the Premier League and the Football Association said in a joint statement.
“They sincerely apologise to supporters, fellow clubs, the Premier League, and the Football Association.”
“As a show of goodwill, the clubs have decided to contribute a total of £22 million to the good of the game,” says the statement.

Leave a Reply